1974
Perlman Chemical Sciences Building and the Perlman Institute of Chemical Sciences
Gifts of Harold Perlman (1908-2000), a prominent Chicago lawyer and community leader, were dedicated in a festive ceremony in November 1974 that coincided with the 100th anniversary of the birth of Dr. Chaim Weizmann and the 40th anniversary of the Daniel Sieff Research Institute. It was named to honor the donor's parents, Morris and Katie Perlman.
Harold Perlman, chairman and director of successful manufacturing and engineering companies, established a park in the suburbs of Chicago, as well as the Perlman Sanctuary at the North Shore Congregation Israel in Glencoe, Illinois. He headed drives for numerous Jewish, civic, and educational causes and institutions. In 1967, he made his first visit to the Institute; in 1971 he was elected to the Institute’s International Board, and in 1974 was named a Weizmann Honorary Fellow and was honored as Founding Chairman of Chicago’s Weizmann Committee.
The Institute's organization into five scientific Faculties occurred in 1970. Around that time, Prof. Gerhard M.J. Schmidt (1919-1971), a world-renowned scientist, considered "the father" of modern solid state oraganic chemistry and the first dean of the newly created Faculty of Chemistry, shared with Mr. Perlman his vision for the development of chemistry, and materials science in particular, as fields in which Israel needed to develop its potential. Schmidt proposed that a new, modern chemistry building would significantly promote the potential of Israeli science. Mr. Perlman responded to these ambitious plans with a major gift for the desired building. When construction was stalled by the Yom Kippur War (1973), Mr. Perlman again came forward with additional funds to enable completion of the building. Mr. Perlman also gave the Faculty of Chemistry a rare and precious gift of an endowed fund for the building's maintenance.
Since all Weizmann Institute research began with Chemistry – Dr. Weizmann, the Institute's founder, having been an organic chemist – the Faculty of Chemistry is one of the largest on campus, consisting today of five interrelated departments and the Chemical Research Support Unit (currently comprising 11 different sub-units), which services the entire Faculty.
The seven-story, 4,250 sq.m. (net floor area) building, designed by architect Gershon Zippor, is the main campus facility for the Faculty of Chemistry and today houses the Department of Materials and Interfaces and the Department of Chemical Physics.
Situated to the right of the building is a small auditorium, named in honor of the late Prof. Schmidt.
On the left is an annex added some years after the completion of the main building, named the Perlman Wing for Nuclear Magnetic Resonance. This, too, was established thanks to Mr. Perlman’s foresight in recognizing the Institute’s strength in the field of NMR.
The entire complex is accessed through the Perlman Plaza, off Marcus Sieff Boulevard, the main road of the Institute’s campus.
